A Beautiful Day Crafting

I met up with a few of my online friends for a crafting day.  And we had so much fun.  I met Teresa at Tresa’s Prim Treasures at her beautiful home and then we drove to Patty’s house of The Brickhouse in Millersburg, PA.  If your ever in this part of PA you will definitely want to visit Patti’s shop.  It is full of beautiful handmade primitives.  And we also met with Tarrah of The Pottery Shed.  She has some of the prettiest pieces of pottery. 

After some much needed chatting we got busy making our pantry cakes.  If you’re not familiar with these prim beauties, you should be.  These are great to decorate with.  You can put some under your old fly screens or place in an old wooden bowl or just set on your counter to make your family and friends think you slaved over a hot oven all day.  I’ll let you decide but these really are great to decorate with.

Here is a picture of all the different types of moulds we could choose from.

Okay this is not a good picture but I did get one of Tarrah slaving over a hot stove with a very painful kink in her neck.  Sorry Tarrah,  we weren’t very good friends that day.  We realized after she was finished cooking her mix that we should of offered to help do hers.  But we did get a good laugh out of the deal.  Ooops.  Oh and your lucky you can’t see any of the smoke waifting from the sugar that is very hot and “caramelizing” right onto the bottom of Patti’s pan.

 

This is what the mould looks like with the sugar mix filled in it.

Once the cakes are cool or, atleast until we can’t wait anymore and don’t mind burning our fingers a little, we take the cakes out of the moulds and rub them with cinnamon and cloves.  This is such a heavenly scent.  I think I will be adding cloves to more of my handmade, cinnamon rubbed goodies.

Now I don’t recommend you decorate with these on a paper plate.  This is just what we used to set the cakes on until they cooled completely and got really hard. 

So what do you think?  Have you ever made a pantry cake?  Would you be interested in learning more?  Let me know in a comment on this post. 

Published in: on June 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://briarpatchprim.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/a-beautiful-day-crafting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How can I get this recipe for Pantry Cakes? I have been using a different one and haven’t been happy with the results. I love the way these look and want to use this recipe! Please let me know?

  2. How can I get this recipe for Pantry Cakes? I don’t like the one I’ve been using and I love the look yours have in the picture! Please let me know how I can acquire this recipe! Thanks Wendy

    • I don’t have a specific recipe. Its a whole bag of brown sugar can use dark or light. Add a little bit of water and cook on low until its all melted. Then add any scents or spices you want, pour into your mold and let cool. Once its cool you can rub more spices onto it to get a nice look and the smell is amazing.

  3. Love the look of these pantry cakes! So there is no baking at all? Just cooked brown sugar down with alittle water? So its liquid when you pour into your molds? Sorry to not quite understand, Ive never made these before but would love to 🙂 Or is it thick after you add spices? Thanks for sharing.

    • Yes, it is a thick liquid when you pour it into your molds. Once the sugar is cooled you can remove it from the mold and I then rub dry spices onto them. You can use cinnamon, cloves or just about any combo you want. The spices will keep them from being sticky and really make them smell nice.


Leave a Reply

