Valentines Tutorial

I have been making ornies for on my valentines tree.  This is one of my fovorite, and I thought I’d share the directions with you.  Enjoy!

First off I took an envelope the size that I wanted my ornie to be and opened up flat.  Then I traced around it onto to card stock to make a pattern.  Then I traced it onto a piece of muslin.  Then I cut out the the pattern on the drawn lines.  I also cut out a piece of card stock to go into the center of the envelope to make it sturdy, Lay aside until after stained & dried.  Once cut out I stained with my favorite grubby mixture, folded flaps to look like an envelop and then dried in the oven for a few min on low heat.  Once dried I put the piece of card stock in the middle and glued all the edges down and sealed with a kiss.  Actually I didn’t seal with a kiss but it would be cool to do if you have a lip stamp.  Then just embellish with the names of your valentines using a sharpie.  I made a glitter heart just by drawing it on with a pencil and then used modge podge and filled the heart shape and glittered it to look like a stamp.  On my dd’s I used glass glitter around the edge to give a little more glitz.  Feel free to embellish any way you want.  Also would be cute with a black & white photo used as a postage stamp.  The possibilities are endless.  I already have plans to make letters to Santa for christmas.

p2090127

Trace around pattern onto muslin.

Trace around pattern onto muslin.

Cut out on the drawn lines

Cut out on the drawn lines

Stain using your favorite staining recipe.

Stain using your favorite staining recipe.

Fold to look just like the envelope you used, and dry in oven on low heat.

Fold to look just like the envelope you used, and dry in oven on low heat.

Place cardstock cutout inside and glue all edges closed.

Place cardstock cutout inside and glue all edges closed.

Embellish till your hearts content.

Embellish till your hearts content.

Published in: on February 13, 2009 at 5:38 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://briarpatchprim.wordpress.com/2009/02/13/valentines-tutorial/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They are really cute Michele!

  2. Oh, how cute? I’ve seen them everywhere this year and thought to myself, I should make some of them but didn’t want to spend the money on another pattern. So simple! I would have never thought of that! Thanks! Linda

  3. That is a great idea and a wonderful tutorial.

    Thanks!!!

    WOLFIE

  4. Michele, Thanks for sharing. I just love them!!! Happy Valentine’s Day.

  5. Those are just the greatest!!!! The only problem I see is that mine is among the ones you made. lol.


Leave a Reply

