Declutter in My Home Office

Well here we are and we are in the last few days of January and for the past few weeks I’ve been reading and hearing alot on decluttering and organizing. It really has me inspired and since I am closing my store and expanding my website, this is a perfect time for me to put what I’ve learned into motion. I need to get my home office in a presentable state so that I can work in it. As of now I have so much clutter that I lovingly call my office my “Tornado Room” because it litterally looks like a tornado swept through and left a bunch of debris behind.

I don’t know about you but I seem to be a craft hopper. I hop from one cool craft to another. I love to learn new things and it seems that when I do I jump in whole hog and buy everything I need. Looking at my office I seem to be a jack of all trades. I like to knit, scrapbook, sew and decorate. And this has left me with major clutter. And so my next mission will be to declutter and then set up zones for each craft. But for now I’m going to get rid of all the stuff I haven’t used in a while. I’m going to bless it to someone else.

Well this past Sunday I decided to do just a little in my office. So I go in and sit in my comfy chair and I have no clue where to start. The mountain seemed so big that I really felt overwhelmed by it all and so I sat. After a while I thought this is rediculous I’m going to make a decision to just do something. So I started a pile to toss, and pile to donate, and I decided that I will sell the other craft supplies on ebay. This step of making a decision alone has really been a big relief. I decided to sell and my aunt is going to help because I just don’t have the time, yet I felt guilty over having wasted so much money on things I only used momentarily. So for the next week you can check out my ebay listings under mmcfadden8.

So through this decluttering I’ve learned alot. And I’ll share the few basic steps with you.

1) Do not get overwhelmed. You don’t have to tackle everything all at once. I suggest starting a timer for 15 min. and just do what you can during this small amount of time. Then take a break leave the room and unwind a bit. During this 15 min. perhaps you could just take a trash bag and throw out as much as possible. Make a game of it.

2) Next release any and all guilt. We are only human and life is too short to feel guilty over our mess. Think of the blessings your giving to others when you donate your gently used items to them. When your hand is open to give its also open to recieve.

3) Take action immediately. Take the trash to the dump, On the way drop off the donated items to a mission to be used to support those less fortunate. Once I got an area cleared I got the bags of stuff out of my room asap. The simple act of doing this is liberating. As long as it sits you’ll feel bad and not to mention it looks bad.

As a wise mentor says, “You can’t organize clutter” and I’ve learned that this is true. My collection of various craft items has left me with a cluttered room that I can’t even work in let alone create. By giving away the less used things I’m now open to focus on doing what I love, like sewing, and I’m now able to be more creative and less distracted. Isn’t that what we all want?

Have fun decorating and be sure to check out my site, our lovely Angie is helping to make some nice changes. Go to http://www.briarpatchprim.com .

Published in: on January 23, 2008 at 1:29 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://briarpatchprim.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/declutter-in-my-home-office/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

